How do you Properly Arrange Paragraphs?

aka: How do you properly handle paragraphs of text?

Assigned Reading/Watching: 

Lecture Tasks:
At the end of the preceding class, students randomly select a lecture task pertaining to the topics to be covered in this class. I’ve attached the ones I use below.


Activity:

This is the closest I get to a standard lecture throughout this course. However, the talking is interspersed with a heavy dose of Jigsaw-ing and practical demos.

Start with a simple test to demonstrate the power of structure in text layouts. Something like showing a wall of unformatted text and seeing how long it takes to find a particular piece of data. Then show the same piece of content, this time formatted, and seeing how quickly the data can be found.

Find the title of episode 355
Much easier now.

Then as I work through the various topics in the lecture, I include breaks to test how much of the material the students are picking up. E.g. After talking a few minutes on the types of grids and their uses, optimal proportions for line-length and leading I show a few bad layouts and ask the students to point out what’s wrong. Like this one:

Source: https://webdev-il.blogspot.com/2011/07/examples-of-bad-magazine-layout.html

Likewise, after talking about types of alignments I show them a few badly designed menus asking how they’d fix them.

Source: http://www.sportsbreak.net/menu-2/lunchmenu/01-wc-fiber-menu-design-fall-2018-166/

The last section deals with the golden ratio and demo-ing how to create a grid from scratch in InDesign & Illustrator. After which I spring a quick no-stakes pop quiz to see if they were listening. I use Kahoot to administer the quiz both so the students can get real-time feedback on the assessment, plus it’s fun. Here’s a link to the Paragraphs Quiz in Kahoot I’ve used for this lecture.

After this I typically transition to Exercise 6: Grids & Paragraphs.

Leave a comment